Our website uses cookies so that we can provide a better service. Continue to use the site as normal if you're happy with this, or find out how to manage cookies.

McGloin wins BWRDC Lord Wakefield Trophy


Nathalie McGloin has won the BWRDC Lord Wakefield Trophy, presented annually in recognition of outstanding achievement by women in motor sport, and will receive the prestigious accolade at the MSA Night of Champions in London on 27 January.

McGloin, aged 34 from Towcester, is the first female MSA Competition Licence holder with a serious spinal injury, having been involved in a road traffic accident aged 16. She first got on track in 2015 with Mission Motorsport, and now competes in the Porsche Club Championship. She scored her first outright podium in the BWRDC all-comers race last November (pictured).

McGloin helps more people with disabilities to get behind the wheel through Spinal Track, an initiative she runs with her partner, Andrew Bayliss. She is also an ambassador for Dare To Be Different, and has been a guest speaker at FIA conferences internationally. Nathalie has recently been appointed as the inaugural President of the new FIA Disability and Accessibility Commission.

McGloin said: “I’m absolutely blown away by the news that I’ve won the BWRDC Lord Wakefield Trophy. Looking back through the history of who this award has been presented to makes me feel extremely humble. I continue to be surprised by where my motor sport journey takes me and I’m extremely grateful for the continuous support I receive from the MSA, BWRDC and FIA.”

Rob Jones, MSA Chief Executive, said: “We first met Nathalie three years ago when she was just getting started in motor sport and it is inspiring to see how much she has achieved since then, becoming one of the most recognisable names championing motor sport as an accessible and inclusive activity for all. We very much look forward to welcoming Nathalie to the MSA Night of Champions at the Royal Automobile Club.”

Lorraine Gathercole, Chair of the British Women Racing Drivers Club (BWRDC), said: “Nathalie has overcome enormous difficulties to compete in motor sport and encourages others with spinal disabilities, as well as the able-bodied, to challenge themselves. With strong performances on track, inspirational talks, motivating articles and her new role at the FIA, Nathalie is a most worthy recipient of this magnificent award.”

Previous winners of the BWRDC Lord Wakefield Trophy include Katherine Legge, Leena Gade, Claire Williams and Susie Wolff.

The MSA is pleased to announce that the Hillclimb and Sprint Association (HSA) will be taking over the organisation of the MSA British Sprint Championship from 2019. Read more

The Motor Sports Association (MSA) and Dare to be Different (D2BD) are teaming up to offer 120 girls the chance to try motorsport free at Silverstone next month (28 October). Read more

The Motor Sports Association (MSA) has committed to an in-depth review of competitor safety equipment over the next two years. This will explore a raft of initiatives, including strategies to reduce the burden on competitors of the unnecessary replac... Read more

Fifteen delegates and four future trainers took part in the first oneday MSA Rally Stage Commander refresher training in Bolton on 4 August, delivered by MSA Trainer, Jon Binns. Initial feedback has been excellent and nominations are still being acc... Read more

The MSA is seeking a Go Motorsport Regional Development Officer (RDO) to cover the South East of England. Read more

The MSA has entered negotiations with Zip Kart on behalf of LeCont as the preferred supplier of tyres for the OK and OK-Junior kart classes for 2018. Read more

The Motor Sports Association (MSA) regrets that two competitors have lost their lives as the result of an accident on the Loco 2 Stages rally today (29 December 2017). Read more

David Richards CBE, MSA Chairman-elect, will deliver the Motorsport Safety Fund Watkins Lecture at Autosport International on Friday 12 January. Read more

Registered Office as above, Registered Number 1344829. VAT Number 242304895