Our website uses cookies so that we can provide a better service. Continue to use the site as normal if you're happy with this, or find out how to manage cookies.

New Directors appointed to MSA Board


The MSA welcomes five new Directors in 2018, led by David Richards CBE as the new Chairman of the MSA Board.

Non-Executive Directors may be appointed by the Motor Sports Council, the Nominations Committee of the MSA Board and the Royal Automobile Club. Additionally, the MSA Chief Executive, Finance Director and General Secretary serve as Executive Directors.

For 2018, the Motor Sports Council has nominated four new non-Executive Directors: Mike Broad, former British Rally Champion co-driver and Chairman of the MSA Rally Championships Steering Group; David Lapworth, Technical Director of Prodrive and Chairman of the MSA Technical Committee; Richard Norbury, Chairman of the MSA Judicial Committee; and Ian Watson, General Manager of the British Automobile Racing Club (BARC) and Chairman of the MSA Race Committee.

The Royal Automobile Club has nominated its Chairman-elect, Ben Cussons, to return to the MSA Board. Cussons, who is an active competitor, previously served as a Director from 2002-14.

In making way for the new appointments, the MSA says farewell not only to Alan Gow after 12 years as MSA Chairman, but also to Dennis Carter, Tom Purves and Mike Sones. The MSA thanks them all for their excellent service as members of the MSA Board.

The MSA Directors for 2018 are as follows:

  • David Richards CBE (MSA Chairman)
  • Simon Blunt (MSA General Secretary)
  • Mike Broad (Motor Sports Council)
  • Ben Cussons (Royal Automobile Club)
  • Danesh Gangahar (MSA Finance Director)
  • Christine Gaskell MBE (Royal Automobile Club)
  • Tim Jackson (Nominations Committee of MSA Board appointment)
  • Rob Jones (MSA Chief Executive)
  • David Lapworth (Motor Sports Council)
  • Nicky Moffitt (automatic appointment as Chairman of Regional Committee)
  • Richard Norbury (Motor Sports Council)
  • Rod Parkin (Nominations Committee of MSA Board appointment)
  • Peter Read (Royal Automobile Club)
  • Tony Scott Andrews (automatic appointment as Chairman of Motor Sports Council)
  • Ian Watson (Motor Sports Council).
Safety Administrator

The Motor Sports Association (MSA), national governing body of UK four-wheel motor sport, seeks a Safety Administrator to be based at their office in Colnbrook, near Heathrow Airport. Read more

Selwyn Kendrick, the former organiser of the MSA British Cross Country Championship, has received a regional volunteer award from Macmillan Cancer Support in recognition of his support for people living with cancer. Read more

Scottish Motor Sports (SMS) and the MSA are pleased to reveal that Transport Scotland will launch a public consultation on developing new legislation facilitating closed-road motorsport. Read more

An exciting opportunity has arisen for an IT Services Director to join the national governing body of four-wheel UK motorsport, the Motor Sports Association (MSA). Read more

Nathalie McGloin has won the BWRDC Lord Wakefield Trophy, presented annually in recognition of outstanding achievement by women in motor sport, and will receive the prestigious accolade at the MSA Night of Champions in London on 27 January. Read more

The MSA is seeking a Go Motorsport Regional Development Officer (RDO) to cover the South East of England. Read more

The MSA has entered negotiations with Zip Kart on behalf of LeCont as the preferred supplier of tyres for the OK and OK-Junior kart classes for 2018. Read more

The Motor Sports Association (MSA) regrets that two competitors have lost their lives as the result of an accident on the Loco 2 Stages rally today (29 December 2017). Read more

Registered Office as above, Registered Number 1344829. VAT Number 242304895